Parenting 101..

Why did you click this? You think a first time mom has anything useful to say 12 weeks into the game? No, not yet. But I can post some things that I learn along the way in hopes I can help another mother out.

Like about co-sleeping. The big NO that every nurse and doctor will tell you about at the hospital. Truth of the matter is, my baby slept in my arms for basically the first three weeks. It was the only way I could get her to sleep longer then 30 minutes, which means I was able to get more then 30 minutes of sleep. She has been sleeping 7-8 hours every night since 1 month old. Now I’m not saying that is going to happen to everyone, usually it doesn’t. Always be careful about co-sleeping.

Trying to get your little one on a schedule? I didn’t. She developed her own and we are both much happier. She still feeds every 2 hours or so, but sometimes she doesn’t want to or is asleep. Some parents wake their children up to feed, but I let her sleep. It doesn’t affect how long she sleeps at night and honestly, she doesn’t like sleeping during the day much. Mothers don’t like dealing with those cluster feeding moments, so they start a very strict schedule right off the bat. But I didn’t, and she doesn’t cluster feed much, and now I have a very fat and healthy 3 month old.

Look at this face!

Also, do not believe what they tell you about losing weight from breastfeeding. It is a load of bull. Because of the breastfeeding, you are hungry all the time to keep your calories up for the milk, so you eat MORE and actually are more likely to gain weight. I didn’t have stretch marks from pregnancy, surprisingly, but I have them now.

Well, that’s all the parenting helpfuls  I have for now.

Tootles!

2 thoughts on “Parenting 101..

  1. vanessawolfe91

    I really hope you continue to use this. I just read every post. You’re a thoughtful writer and I like that you’re being real about how you feel. If I had a kid I would look forward to reading all the time. Heck, I already feel like I’m relating and I’m not a mom 🙂

    P.S. I would like to read about your conference if you were thinking about writing about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

